Skip to Content

Program Mission, Goals, Competencies, and Benchmarks

MSW Mission

The mission of the Rutgers University School of Social Work MSW program is to advance  competent, ethical, evidence-based and community and critically-informed master’s level social work practice that promotes social and economic justice and strengthens individual, family, and community well-being with an understanding of diversity in local, national and global contexts.

MSW Program Goals 

  • The MSW program will prepare master’s level practitioners for ethical, evidence-based and critically-informed social work practice that promotes social justice, engages diversity and difference, and strengthens individuals, families and communities in local, national and global contexts.
  • The MSW program will design and deliver an innovative, rigorous competency-based social work curriculum rooted in a liberal arts tradition and person-in-environment framework that continuously incorporates state of the art social work knowledge, prepares practitioners to employ multiple evidence-informed prevention and intervention methods at the micro, mezzo, and macro levels, and responds to emergent social problems and community, professional and labor force needs.
  • The MSW program will offer flexible program options that best serve a diverse student body and reflect and contribute to 21st century educational practices and advancements.
  • The MSW program will establish partnerships with a broad variety of social service agencies to educate and train students though field work while respecting and contributing to the agency’s mission and function.


In addition, the School of Social Work adopted three new school-wide learning goals. Upon graduation, all students will be able to:

  • Demonstrate Ethical and Professional Behavior;
  • Engage Diversity and Difference in Practice;
  • Engage, Assess, and Intervene With Individuals, Families, Groups, Organizations, and Communities.

MSW program mission and goals are aligned with the 2015 Educational Policy and Accreditation Standards (EPAS) set forth by the Council on Social Work and Education (CSWE).  These competencies differ by the Generalist and Specialist (CSW and MAP) years and are available in the PDF's below:

2015 Generalist (BASW and MSW) Competencies

2015 Clinical Social Work (CSW) Competencies

2015 Management and Policy (MAP) Competencies


Combined MSW Benchmarks 2014-15

Combined MSW Benchmarks 2015-16

Combined MSW Benchmarks 2016-17

Back to top